How to factory reset MacBook pro

How to factory reset MacBook pro

We have entered into the fifth generation Macbook pro this month. Like, fourth-generation, it also launched with many versatile features. The best thing about the MacBook Pro is its connectivity with other Apple devices. Its integration is quite remarkable, like MacBook Pro, iPhone, and iPad, everything sync. The way everything integrates helps users to respond to iMessage and get back to work in no time. MacBook Pro also has no match regarding stability, power, portability, and value. There are numerous benefits of MacBook so if you dont have any yet. you can grab it on black friday. The syncing of MacBook pro with the other Apple devices can also sometimes slow down the performance. There are some other reasons such as 85% or more than that hard disk full storage leads to the slow performance of MacBook.In these cases, the factory reset can help in improving system performance. Before we switch to how to factory reset MacBook Pro, let’s explore which factors slow down the MacBook pro performance. 

Reasons for MacBook Pro slow performance 

Sometimes, the time machine backup running at the backend and you are performing multitasking; then, it might lead you to system slow speed. The installed operating systems missed testing the third-party software. Or incompatible driver installed also slows down performance. Third, router firmware slows down internet applications, and then users seek for MacBook Pro reset for improving performance. Keep your iTunes updated and do not install a bad iTunes. Otherwise, it will also slow down your MacBook performance. The peer to peer sharing software turns your machine into a software server and led to lousy internet performance. As the above mentioned, there are several reasons for MacBook’s slow performance. So, there is a need for a MacBook factory reset to improve performance. 

Why we reset MacBook Pro?

There are two main reasons why we reset Mac Book Pro; one is due to bad system performance. The other one is selling it to the new user. Let’s jump to How to factory reset MacBook pro:

MacBook pro boot up

If you are going to sale your MacBook, then the first step is to boot up. Perform uplinking of your Apple id from MacBook Pro. It is essential to perform this; otherwise, the new owner will not be able to sign in to iCloud. For Macbook, Apple id uplinking go to system prefrences>icloud>Signout. After performing these steps, remove local copies. There is another way to boot up MacBook Pro by simply signing in to iCloud. After signing in, look into the system for “Find my Phone” and look at your MacBook pro device and remove the account. 

Set to default settings 

When we want to speed up the performance or hand over to the new user, we set the Macbook Pro to default settings. Restore factory setting erase all the data such as media and documents. So, it is essential to backup your data before the default factory setting. Some users keep backup with the help of the time machine. If this is the case, then tap on the time machine icon and go to backup now. The time machine will backup your data to the external hard drive. It can take several hours for backup. 

Clean up the hard drive 

After the backup, click on the folder, disconnect the disc after ejecting it properly. Keep your hard drive at the safe place after a backup, and then shut down the MacBook Pro. Connect the power adapter and then press the cmd+Alt+R and then restart your device. If on-screen, it starts showing the “System Internet Recovery,” then leave the keys and wait for loading. After loading finished, click on disk utility and press enter for erase of data. 

Reinstall OS X

After cleaning of hard disk, choose for the disk utility and click Quit. Now go back to the internet recovery area. Now go to the wifi symbol and check for the enabling of the network name. The black tick with the name is the symbol that it is connected. If there is no black tik, then click on the network name to connect it. After connecting, it searches for the option of reinstall OS X in the center of the screen. It will install the operating system again. Usually, it installs the original MacBook Pro OS. So, you have to install for latest one by yourself. After reinstall gets complete and you want the latest version then through your Apple Id download it from the App store. 

The reinstallation of Mac OS will take you to set up an assistant. If you want to hand it over to the new user, then simply shut it down. The new user will set it up if you reinstalled the OS because of slow performance, then in set up assistant click next and follow instructions to fetch previous data by migration feature and sign in by Apple id to proceed as before but with improved performance. 

Share this post

Post Comment